Slovakia is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It has an area of 49 036 km2 and a population of approximately 5,430,000 inhabitants. It borders with the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Ukraine and Hungary. The capital of of Slovakia is Bratislava. Slovakia is a member of the European Union since 2004. From the 1st of January 2009 as the 16th member of the Eurozone became the official currency EURO, which replaced the Slovak crown.


Bratislava is at the centre of Europe, in the extreme southwest of Slovakia. The edge of the city actually forms Slovakia’s borders with Hungary, to the south, and Austria, to the west, making it the only capital city to border two neighbouring countries. In addition, the Czech Republic is only 62 kilometres away. The Austrian capital Vienna is only 60 kilometres distant, making them among the world’s closest capital cities.